award icon


Seven (7) members of the 2016-2017 Gopher women's hockey team – Sydney Baldwin, Anna Barlow, Sidney Peters, Nicole Schammel, Kate Schipper, Lee Stecklein, and Taylor Williamson, were named as B1G Distinguished Scholars on Wednesday, July 5.

A total of 83 U. of M. student-athletes were named as Distinguished Scholars by the conference.  Honorees must be letter winners in at least their second academic year at their institution and have a minimum GPA of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year, excluding summer school.

We congratulate all seven on this prestegious honor!

Sydney Baldwin Anna Barlow Sidney Baldwin Nicole Schammel Kate Schipper Lee Stecklein Taylor Williamson

7 GWH players named B1G Distinguished Scholars (from left): Sydney Baldwin, Anna Barlow, Sidney Peters, Nicole Schammel, Kate Schipper, Lee Stecklein, and Taylor Williamson. 
Image credit: