news icon

The Gopher Women's Hockey team erased 3 one-goal deficits thanks to goals by Kate Schipper, Sarah Potomak, and Sophie Skarzynski, but Clarkson went ahead a fourth time when Rhyen McGill scored on a rebound with 1:31 to play, which was enough to give the Knights a 4-3 victory in the NCAA semifinals and eliminate Minnesota. The Knights move on to Sunday's championship game. McGill, Geneviève Bannon, and Savannah Harmon each recorded a goal and an assist for Clarkson, and Loren Gabel also scored. In net, Sidney Peters made 21 saves for the Gophers, while Shea Tiley stopped 28 shots for the Knights.

Minnesota-Clarkson game recaps...

Wisconsin defeats Boston College, 1-0 – Melissa Channell lit the lamp for the Badgers with just 16.2 seconds remaining in regulation to give Wisconsin a 1-0 semifinal victory over Boston College. Eagles goaltender Katie Burt made 35 saves, while Badger netminder Ann-Renée Desbiens recorded another shutout with a 22-save performance.

Championship Preview – Wisconsin and Clarkson met in a weekend series back in October in Potsdam, with the Badgers picking up the road sweep with 3-2 (OT) and 4-1 victories. The line combination of Sarah Nurse, Sydney McKibbon, and Presley Norby tallied 5 of Wisconsin's goals and also combined for 5 assists, led by McKibbon's 2 goals and 2 assists. Cayley Mercer recorded a goal and an assist in the first game for Clarkson. Knights goaltender Shea Tiley made 62 saves, including 38 in the first game, while Ann-Renée Desbiens recorded 45 saves for the Badgers.

Patty Kazmaier Award reminder – The Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award will be presented later this morning (Saturday, March 18), with Top-3 Finalists Ann-Renée Desbiens (Wisconsin), Cayley Mercer (Clarkson), and Lara Stalder (Minnesota Duluth). We'll share the announcement of the winner on our Facebook and Twitter accounts once the presentation is made.

We send thanks to the entire GWH team on another great campaign, and we look forward to seeing you again in the fall!

Dani Cameranesi Kelsey Cline Paige Haley Kate Schipper Lee Stecklein Megan Wolfe
Thank you seniors Dani Cameranesi, Kelsey Cline, Paige Haley, Kate Schipper, Lee Stecklein, and Megan Wolfe, for a fantastic four seasons!!
Image credit: